Gallery

Home Page

Spinal Injuries Scotland is the national voluntary organisation concerned with new and long-term spinal cord injured people, their relatives and friends, along with those involved in the management, care and rehabilitation of the injury.

 

SIS provides immediate support through the office based Information Service and operate a self-referral information line. We also provide a legal and welfare rights advisory service. Our representatives, who are able to discuss all aspects of living with a spinal cord injury, undertake weekly visits to the Queen Elizabeth National Spinal Injuries Unit.


In addition we liaise with other similar voluntary and professional organisations so that the issues surrounding spinal cord injury are recognised and understood.

 

 

 

SIS Annual Report now avaliable on line

What you are doing for SIS.

Let us know what you are doing in 2014.

Scottish Half Marathon - 

6th September 2014

Leanne Monaghan

 

Great Scottish Run 10K 2014 - 

05 October 2014

Lynne Cowie

Helen Cowie

 

Ben Nevis - October 2014

 

Alan Crow and friends

 

What are you doing email:info@sisonline.org to let us know!

News

Proposals to tackle the misuse of the Blue Badge Scheme are expected to be passed by the Scottish Pa

Proposals to tackle the misuse of the Blue Badge Scheme are expected to be passed by the Scottish Parliament today.  more…

Posted: Tue, August 19 2014

SIS Watersports Project Launch Event

Friday, 15th August, 10.30am for 11am start more…

Posted: Tue, August 05 2014

Ticket 2 Tokyo

Ticket2Tokyo more…

Posted: Mon, August 04 2014

Kidz Scotland

Kidz Scotland more…

Posted: Tue, July 29 2014

Participants Wanted for Hand Rehabilitation Study

Participants Wanted for Hand Rehabilitation Study  more…

Posted: Tue, July 29 2014

Spinal Injuries centre gets a facelift by volunteers from Milngavie In Bloom

Spinal Injuries centre gets a facelift by volunteers from Milngavie In Bloom more…

Posted: Mon, July 28 2014

Commonwealth Games

Let us know more…

Posted: Fri, July 11 2014

Access to Edinburgh Waverly station made more difficult for disabled people

Access to Edinburgh Waverly station made more difficult for disabled people more…

Posted: Wed, June 25 2014

World Cup Sweepstake for SIS

World Cup Sweepstake for SIS more…

Posted: Wed, June 11 2014

REX Exoskeleton

Our Trustee, Joanna Martin, trialled the REX Exoskeleton last week and has kindly shared her experience with us more…

Posted: Wed, May 28 2014

Wheelchair Tennis Camp

The Tennis Foundation are running a one day Wheelchair Tennis Camp at Craiglockhart Tennis Centre in Edinburgh again this Summer.  more…

Posted: Tue, May 27 2014

Uddingston’s Mike Kerr meets London Mayor Boris Johnson to launch major wheelchair rugby tournament

Uddingston's Mike Kerr meets London Mayor Boris Johnson to launch major wheelchair rugby tournament more…

Posted: Tue, May 20 2014

Writer’s harrowing story of spinal injuries gets its Scottish premiere

Writer's harrowing story of spinal injuries gets its Scottish premiere more…

Posted: Mon, May 19 2014

Have Your Say On Disability

Disability Survey more…

Posted: Mon, May 19 2014

WestMARC Service User Survey

WestMARC Service User Survey more…

Posted: Tue, May 06 2014

Eastern Western Holdings ‘Under One Roof’ Disability Awareness Open Day

Eastern Western Holdings ‘Under One Roof’ Disability Awareness Open Day more…

Posted: Tue, May 06 2014

SIS Joins Give As You Live

Give As You Live more…

Posted: Wed, April 09 2014

Inclusion Scotland Conference and AGM

Inclusion Scotland Conference and AGM more…

Posted: Fri, March 14 2014

Try Curling Day @ Braehead Curling Rink

Try Curling Day @ Braehead Curling Rink more…

Posted: Fri, March 14 2014

Edinburgh Wheelchair tennis Tournament 12/13 April 2014

Edinburgh Wheelchair tennis Tournament 12/13 April 2014 more…

Posted: Wed, March 05 2014

Benefits Survey

Inclusion Scotland has launched a survey to find out how benefits changes are affecting disabled people in Scotland.  more…

Posted: Wed, March 05 2014

Glasgow Disability Alliance “My Choices:  A Vision for Self Directed Support”

Glasgow Disability Alliance Half Day Conference, Spinal Injuries Scotland more…

Posted: Fri, February 28 2014

Mike Kerr

Michael Kerr, SIS member and Paralympian, has just been promoted to captain of the GB Wheelchair Rugby team more…

Posted: Fri, February 14 2014

Carers Trust Survey for Male Carers

Survey for Male Carers. more…

Posted: Wed, February 12 2014

Wheelchair users taxi and private hire experiences survey

The Department for Transport is seeking to learn more about the specific experiences of wheelchair users when using taxis/ private hire vehicles across the UK more…

Posted: Thu, February 06 2014

Register for the 2014 Wheelchair Rugby League trials

2014 Wheelchair Rugby League trials more…

Posted: Thu, February 06 2014

Does sleep apnea effect you?

Sleep apnea is common among spinal cord injury patients, a small new study suggests. more…

Posted: Thu, February 06 2014

Vehicle access changes at Edinburgh Waverley Station

Vehicle access changes at Edinburgh Waverley Station more…

Posted: Fri, January 17 2014

SCI RESEARCH PROJECT

Student Needs Volunteers for SCI research project. more…

Posted: Tue, November 19 2013

New TV Series

Casting company Looking for women with SCI who are pregnant for a potential new TV Series. more…

Posted: Thu, October 10 2013

Christmas Cards Now for Sale online

Buy your Xmas cards online  more…

Posted: Fri, October 04 2013

Digby Brown Meet SIS TV

SIS TV had the pleasure of meeting with Digby Brown's Senior Parnter, Robert Swanney. more…

Posted: Tue, September 17 2013

Top tips for wheelchair users

Top tips for wheelchair users more…

Posted: Tue, August 27 2013

AGM Time Change

Time Change. more…

Posted: Wed, August 14 2013

SIS TV meets Foundation for Hospital Art.

The National Spinal Injuries Unit in Glasgow recently had a visit from Scott Feight Executive Director of Foundation for Hospital Art. more…

Posted: Tue, August 06 2013

‘Bedroom tax’ doesn’t discriminate against disabled people, High Court rules’

A legal challenge over claims that the Government's so-called "bedroom tax" unlawfully discriminates against disabled people in social housing more…

Posted: Tue, July 30 2013

Karen Darke set back

Karen Darke wheelchair athlete was recently hit by a car while cycling in a Cumbrian Village. more…

Posted: Wed, June 26 2013

Summer edition of Newsline now online

Summer edition of Newsline now online more…

Posted: Thu, June 20 2013

Inclusion Scotland Ebulletin update

Inclusion Scotland Ebulletin update more…

Posted: Wed, June 19 2013

SIS TV First interview goes online.

Wheelchair Wood Turners let SIS TV in. more…

Posted: Fri, June 14 2013

Kenny’s Cycle comes to an End,

Kenny's Cycle came to an end at the Spinal unit in Stoke Mandeville. more…

Posted: Thu, June 13 2013

More Updates from Kenny

Isle Of Wight more…

Posted: Fri, June 07 2013

Kennys half way update

Kenny is now at the half way stage check out the update. more…

Posted: Thu, June 06 2013

Kenny and Lee’s Challenge begins

600 Miles to Go!! more…

Posted: Mon, June 03 2013

Kenny Herriot to take the SIS message Coast to Coast

Kenny is due to endure another epic journey to help raise the profile and funds for SIS  more…

Posted: Thu, May 30 2013

Adapting to life with a spinal cord injury

BBC news ran the following article on Justin Levene. more…

Posted: Wed, May 29 2013

Woman Tackles Edinburgh Half Marathon for Spinal Injuries Scotland

Runner Raises Funds for Spinal Charity the Helped Quadriplegic Dad. more…

Posted: Wed, May 15 2013

Leonard Cheshire Disability Campaign to Oppose 15 Minute Home Care Visits

What can you do in 15 minutes? more…

Posted: Wed, May 08 2013

Woman of Scotland Luncheon a Huge Success

Spinal Injuries Scotland were honoured to have been chosen as the charity to benefit from the proceeds of the 2013 event. more…

Posted: Wed, May 08 2013

Woman of Scotland Luncheon

SIS chosen charity for Women of Scotland Luncheon 2013 more…

Posted: Thu, April 25 2013

Conocophilips Oil and Gas Quiz for SIS

Conocophilips Oil and Gas Quiz for SIS more…

Posted: Tue, March 12 2013

Twitter/ Facebook test feed

Twitter/ Facebook test feed more…

Posted: Tue, March 12 2013

Inclusion Scotland Ebulletin update

Inclusion Scotland Ebulletin update more…

Posted: Tue, March 12 2013

Scotrail Online Booking Form Improvements

Scotrail have made some improvements to the way Passenger Assist is booked more…

Posted: Tue, March 12 2013

Edinburgh wheelchair tennis tournament 2013 Entries Open Now

Entries are open for this years Edinburgh wheelchair tennis tournament. more…

Posted: Wed, March 06 2013

Grade One Assistant Wheelchair Basketball Coach

Wheelchair Basketball Grade 1 Coach Award at the Peak, Stirling,  more…

Posted: Mon, February 25 2013

Survey is to find out what are the key issues facing women with a disability

Engender, Inclusion Scotland and Scottish Disability Equality Forum are working in partnership to host a series of events on Women and Disability.  more…

Posted: Wed, February 13 2013

This Amazing Device Just Made Wheelchairs Obsolete for Paraplegics

This Amazing Device Just Made Wheelchairs Obsolete for Paraplegics more…

Posted: Wed, January 09 2013